Scholarships and Awards

Women & Gender Studies provides a number of scholarships and awards every year to our majors and minors, including the Queer Studies minors. Applications are available in the WGST Main Office (H-230) starting in early April. Deadlines for each academic year will be posted here in early April as well.

2019-2020 applications are due April 10, 2020 by 5 PM.



Diane Ross Returning Student Scholarship – Awarded to a returning student major or minor

Sandra Sutphen Book Scholarship – Awarded to a student in their frosh to junior year.



Evy Bauman Award – Open to all majors and minors

Activist of the Year – Awarded to an outstanding campus activist working on social justice

Student Leadership Award – For excellence in student leadership

Faculty Scholar of the Year – For excellence in student scholarship*

Outstanding Graduating Senior – For excellence in leadership, scholarship, and activism in the program.

Scott Lee Award – For research on global women’s issues

Valedictorian – Selected by the Faculty: No Application by Students


To apply, complete the application, along with a cover sheet specific to each award you are applying. This cover sheet should include the name of the award and a brief statement outlining your qualifications and achievements in this area.

You may apply for as many scholarships and awards as you qualify for. One application for all of the awards is sufficient, but complete a separate cover sheet for each award in which you are interested.

Applications are available in H-230 and H-212. Return the completed application to H-230 by the deadline.