faculty - Volker Janssen (History)

Faculty members who teach in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences are scholars who are devoted to study and research in their own professional fields and committed teachers who care deeply about the intellectual engagement and growth of their students.  The College is proud to be home to over 200 faculty members who, together, represent an elite group of nationally and internationally recognized scholars, authors, and teachers.



The College of Humanities and Social Sciences is extremely proud of its accomplished faculty – world-class intellectuals in every department and program. H&SS professors are experts in their fields. They conduct research, publish books and papers, are quoted in the media, present at conferences, and win awards.

How do we describe our faculty? Passionate. Dedicated. Driven. Accessible. They drive our rich and rewarding curriculum, which connects and combines classical liberal arts with outstanding professional study.

We are happy to list the awards received by our faculty and congratulate them for their outstanding efforts.


2019 H&SS Awards Recipients


This year we received many nominations for the six H&SS Faculty Awards. The quality of these applications was, once again, truly impressive and it was a difficult task to select from the high number of exceptional applicants. The high quality of the nominations is a testament to the commitment and excellence of the faculty of this college.


Distinguished Faculty Member

Robert Voeks, Geography and the Environment

Outstanding Scholarship and Creativity

Stephen Neufeld, History

Outstanding Teaching

Lana Dalley, English Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Outstanding Service and Contributions to Student Success

Stacy Mallicoat, Politics, Administration, and Justice

Outstanding Untenured Faculty Member

Susie Woo, American Studies

Outstanding Lecturer

Daniel McClure, History



2018 Dean’s Faculty Scholarly Achievement Award


Dydia DeLyser, Geography and the Environment
Natalie Graham, African American Studies
Satoko Kakihara, Modern Languages and Literatures



2017/18 Dean's Research Award for Associate Professors


To assist associate professors in completing the research and publications necessary to attain the rank of full professor, the College of Humanities and Social Sciences has established a cash award for research for associate professors. This award has been funded by a gift from an anonymous emeriti faculty member and the Dean’s discretionary account:


Spring 2018

Erin Hollis, English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Karen Stocker, Anthropology


Fall 2017

Myungjung “MJ” Kwon, Politics, Administration, and Justice

Craig McConnell, Liberal Studies



2018 Summer Stipends


Lucia Alcala, Psychology

Eric Carbajal, Modern Languages and Literatures

Amy Coplan, Philosophy

Dydia DeLyser, Geography and the Environment

Meriem Doucette, Politics, Administration, and Justice

Veronica Herrera, Politics, Administration, and Justice

Sarah Hill, Politics, Administration, and Justice

Juan Ryusuke Ishikawa, Modern Languages and Literatures

Nancy Segal, Psychology

Terri Snyder, American Studies

Susie Woo, American Studies



17/18 International Travel Grants


Kristine Dennehy, History

Sarah Grant, Anthropology

Nancy Segal, Psychology

Devon Thacker-Thomas, Sociology

Joe Burgtorf, History

Nancy Fitch, History

Kevin Lambert, Liberal Studies

Mindy Mechanic, Psychology

Tyler D. Parry, African American Studies

Alexei Shevchencko, Politics, Administration, and Justice

Anelise Shrout, History

Meriem Doucette, Politics, Administration, and Justice

Jindong Wu, Geography and the Environment

Heping Zhao, English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics



2018/19 Faculty Recognition for Scholarly & Creative Activities


The College of Humanities and Social Sciences is committed to fostering excellence in scholarly and creative activities. We are proud of the H&SS faculty who were recognized for their outstanding service a university-wide luncheon on November 6, 2018:

Alissa Ackerman, Division of Politics, Administration, and Justice

Ahmed Afzal, Division of Anthropology

John Davis, Department of Philosophy

Dydia DeLyser, Department of Geography and the Environment

Aitana Guia, Department of History

Edward Knell, Division of Anthropology

William Marelich, Department of Psychology

Xhercis Mendez, Department of Women and Gender Studies

Stephen Neufeld, Department of History

Lidia Nuno, Division of Politics, Administration, and Justice

Yuko Okado, Department of Psychology

Tyler D. Parry, Department of African American Studies

Irena Praitis, Department of English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Nancy L. Segal, Department of Psychology

Nicole Seymour, Department of English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics

Susie Woo, Department of American Studies

Jennifer A. Yee, Department of Asian American Studies

Laura Zettle-Watson, Department of Psychology



The 2018 Author Awards


The College of Humanities and Social Sciences is extremely proud of the many books authored or edited by members of our faculty. These individuals were recognized at a February 24, 2016 reception sponsored by the Office of the President, Division of Academic Affairs, Pollak Library, Titan Shops and the Faculty Development Center. Congratulations to the following:

Christina Chin

Assistant professor of sociology
“Asian American Sporting Cultures”


Dana Collins

Professor of sociology
“The Rise and Fall of an Urban Sexual Community: Malate (Dis)Placed” 


Sandra Falero

Lecturer in American studies
“Digital Participatory Culture and the TV Audience: Everyone’s a Critic”


Christie Gardiner

Associate professor of criminal justice
“Policing for the 21st Century: Realizing the Vision of Police in a Free Society”


Adam Golub

Associate professor of American studies
“Monsters in the Classroom: Essays on Teaching What Scares Us”


Erualdo González

Professor of Chicana and Chicano studies
“Latino City: Urban Planning, Politics and the Grassroots”


Natalie Graham

Associate professor of African American studies
“Begin With a Failed Body”


Benjamin Hubbard

Professor emeritus of comparative religion
“A Battlefield of Values — America’s Left, Right and Endangered Center”


Juan Ryusuke Ishikawa

Professor of modern languages and literatures
“The Informers”


Carrie Lane

Professor of American studies
“Anthropologies of Unemployment: New Perspectives on Work and its Absence”


Jeeloo Liu

Chair and professor of philosophy
“Neo-Confucianism: Metaphysics, Mind and Morality”


Stacy Mallicoat

Professor of criminal justice and chair of the Division of Politics, Administration and Justice
“Crime and Criminal Justice: Concepts and Controversies”


Enric Mallorquí-Ruscalleda

Assistant professor of modern languages and literatures
“Catalan Diachronic and Corpus Linguistics: Four New Approaches”
“El Género Epistolar En El Seiscientos Hispánico: Justo Lipsio Y Su ‘Epistolica Institutio’ [O ‘Tratado Sobre Cómo Escribir Cartas’]”
“Libros De Caballerías “A Lo Divino” (1552-1601). Historia, Crítica Y Poética De Un Género Literario Olvidado”
“Tocados Por La Santidad: Lectores, Lectura Y Usos De Los ‘Quijotes A Lo Divino’ (Ss. Xvi-xx)”


David Marley

Lecturer in history
“Skipper Stories: True Tales From Disneyland’s Jungle Cruise”


Irena Praitis

Professor of English, comparative literature and linguistics
“The Last Stone in the Circle”


Nancy Segal

Professor of psychology
“Twin Mythconceptions: False Beliefs, Fables and Facts About Twins”


Nicole Seymour

Assistant professor of English, comparative literature and linguistics
“Kelly Reichardt: Emergency and the Everyday”


Choudhury M. Shamim

Professor emeritus of political science
“Cadet College Memories: The Early 1960s”


Allison Varzally

Professor of history
“Children of Reunion: Vietnamese Adoptions and the Politics of Family Migrations”